What’s Up Wednesday

Image

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. Should you wish to join us, you will find the link widget at the bottom of Jaime or Erin’s blog.

What I’m Reading

Image

Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce. She was my favorite author as a child (and by favorite, I mean I was obsessed) and was a huge inspiration for me, especially to start writing books. I think her book Alanna, first in the Song of the Lioness series, was the first book I truly fell in love with, and sparked a hunger for reading I’d never quite had before. I read all 23 of her other books, and I would often hole myself up in my room for 16 hours at a time because I just couldn’t put them down. I fell in love with (and looked up to) her strong heroines, as well as her rich worlds and fantastic storytelling. She has been such an inspiration to me both as a reader and writer. I’m only a couple chapters in, but of course am already loving it (and feeling self-conscious about my own writing) and it’s great to kind of reconnect to my 10 year old self, when she first fell in love with a red-headed girl who wanted to be a knight.

What I’m Writing

Honestly, this week has been pretty slow. As I said in my last post, I’ve had a couple relapses as far as my health, so I haven’t had much energy to do anything. I did conquer a couple scenes I was struggling with, but am pretty behind on my monthly as a whole. Not giving up though! Last Saturday’s writing group was pretty inspiring, since one of my CPs finished my MS, so it was great to get positive feedback and be able to talk with someone about it. Yay CPs!

What Inspires Me Right Now

This week I have been inspired more with art. I painted a couple more things for my first apartment this summer (can’t wait!). As far as writing, I’ve actually been more inspired by talking with my writing group and seeing how their stories are coming along. It’s so beautiful to watch the process from raw stone to diamond, or as I explained to a friend of mine that it is like being a sculptor, taking the raw form of stone and chipping away bit by bit to reveal the masterpiece inside. It’s so exciting to be a part of that process!

What Else I’m Up To

What am I not up to? These past two weeks have been a roller coaster. Right now, I am mostly trying to focus on my health and schoolwork. Only a few more weeks in the semester, but sometimes it seems impossible. I am also navigating the process of transferring colleges and preparing to move out for the first time, so that’s both exciting and overwhelming. Overwhelming because it will be an entirely new life and I don’t know how I’ll manage everything, especially with my health, exciting because I can’t wait to be independent and truly experience college life. In a few months, I’ll finally start the next chapter of my life, and I can’t wait!

9 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Would you believe I’ve never read Tamora Pierce? I know she’s wildly popular, so perhaps I should give her books a go. Do you recommend any one in particular? Sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well. I hope you’re back to normal soon, and able to write all those words. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh wow! Haha yes. Honestly, it has been so long since I’ve read any of them. But I would say probably Trickster’s Choice and Trickster’s Queen. It’s only a duet so not a huge commitment, plus I’d say maybe a bit more grown up? Again, it’s been so long so I can’t say for sure. I loved all of them of course but those were really great. Thank you so much!

      Like

  2. Sorry to hear your health isn’t the best. Hope you feel much better soon.
    I haven’t read Tamora Pierce in foreeeeeeeever. I should go back and read her books.
    Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

