TBAS Snapshot

Hey all! Hope you are getting ready and excited for Halloween! I know I am 🙂 Since I have been so busy this semester, I have only been able to post about once a week. I came up with the idea to reblog a worthy post from the writing community every week to fill the gap, but based on your feedback, I decided that wasn’t the best answer.

So I am going to try something else.

Since I started To Build A Story to take you along the journey of writing a book with me, I thought I would give you a little snapshot of where I am, every week. It’s a more detailed look than my usual overall posts, so I hope you like it and maybe even find it helpful. Feel free to join in, and let me know where you’re at in your writing! After all, we are in this together 🙂

Title: Nightfire

Current word count: 62,786

Words written this week: 2,421

What I’m working on: A battle scene before the climax. Or at least, trying to–battle scenes are not my favorite. I’ve been stuck on this one for a little while. If anyone has tips, I’ll gladly take them 🙂

Favorite lines: 

I grit my teeth, fighting the sudden, desperate ache in my heart. Hopelessness–in the bitter tang at the back of my mouth, in my heart with the skittering pulse of a cornered animal. I can only hope their plan for escape doesn’t depend on any divine gifts they think I have.

If that is our only chance for escape, then we are already dead.

Words left to write: I’ve estimated about 5k, but will likely end up being more before cuts. Excited to finish this draft!

9 thoughts on “TBAS Snapshot

  1. I love the idea of writing about your progress; writing can be a rather solitary venture, can’t it? As for fight scenes, I’d recommend reading some books from the “Redwall” series by Brian Jacques. I know his books are more middle grade than YA, but he’s an excellent writer and I’ve learned a lot from him.

    Like

  2. I feel your pain… battle scenes are hard for me too. (SO HARD) The only advice I have is to do a scavenger hunt for books with battles and read only the pivotal fight scenes. Seeing a bunch of different authors all doing the same thing sometimes gives me ideas on how to proceed.

    Like

  3. Pingback: TBAS Snapshot | Coffee. Write. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

