To Build A Story: Nameless

Names can be tricky. Sometimes I’ll go days, weeks, or even months without being able to choose a good name for a character. If this happens, I use some kind of placeholder, usually the first name that pops into my head. It works in the mean time, but it’s just not right. 

Right now, I have two characters in my WIP Nightfire. They are ferals like my protagonist Kera, which means they are basically a native people who mostly live in tribes outside of civilization. They are brother and sister, and skilled warriors. The girl is small, sharp-tongued, and quick, and she loves knives. The brother is large and strong, serious, blind, and very spiritual.

As of now, their placeholders are Namri and Nayo. They work, but they just don’t feel quite right for these two. I have been working on a lot of world-building lately, and have started to base the feral culture around Eskimo and Inuit people. I’ve started adapting the Eskimo languages into words and phrases I can use in Nightfire, and would love for these two characters to have Eskimo based names.

Now it’s your turn to help me! I’ll put two polls below, one for the brother and one for the sister, with some of my options and their meanings, though some have been chosen just for how they sound. Choose your favorite, and hopefully we can find the right names together 🙂

9 thoughts on “To Build A Story: Nameless

  1. Name picking can give solid headaches! I had issues with one of my characters a week ago. I was able to find a name that suited her thankfully. I can’t use placeholders. I tried that a few times but if I don’t have the actual name, my writing gets stuck, even in the world building and outlining processes, as my brain just knows that something isn’t right.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really digging ‘Nuk’ for the brother. Having only one syllable emphasises his strength. And for the sister, something with ‘k’ in it.

    But it’s really up to you. 🙂 I know how frustrating it can be to not be able to find the right names for your characters, so you have to be comfortable with the ones you choose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes, I want something strong, which is why I like the “K” in each of these. But I like all of them, which is why I’m having a hard time 🙂 Yes, I am trying to find the one that feels right. Usually it just takes some time. Thanks!

      Like

  3. I cast three votes each, but I seem to be in the minority with my preferences haha. For the record, most of them would make great names regardless.

    I wanna share the struggle I’ve gone trough with bad names, just ’cause: Ilkere was probably my worst, but she’s from a different book. From The Soul, while Sol was always Sol (well, his real name, anyway), Ero was Samore, Ederelo and Aeirov. I think he was an Aero is there, too. And Nithin used to be Deilf’doj.

    There’s also been: Thalen, Brenedie, Quistastin, Assisium, Eijeru, a whole pleathora of bad placeholders.

    Just… I know the struggle haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh, I love all the names. It was hard to pick!
    Personally, I love coming up with names. I’ve helped my friend out a few times, and I’d be happy to help you if you ever need help with names! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

