Weekend Writing Warriors #4

This is a continuation of my first chapter, so if you haven’t read the previous posts (or need a reminder) check out the first here, the second here, and the most recent here. To meet some new authors, read some great writing, or join in the 8-sentence fun, stop by at Weekend Writing Warriors!

Image

Just before the last taint of sludge was gone, Asa stopped, opened his eyes, and the blue glow of his magic rushed back into him–not a single Little looked up. Of course, they couldn’t see his magic, since they didn’t have any of their own–they just saw two grown-ups moving their hands over some plant.

Asa smiled, “Now it is your turn, I know you can do this.”

I didn’t remind him that we had been trying this for three years, with no success–yet the light in his eyes was so hopeful, so obnoxiously endearing, I couldn’t bear to refuse him.

With a sigh, I closed my eyes and settled myself, taking a long, deep breath.

I could feel the magic in my core, yet where Asa’s magic buzzed with energy, with vitality, mine felt dull and foggy. As if drugged, trapped on the other side of a thick curtain.

I tried anyways.

——-

I felt a little evil ending there, but I couldn’t help it 🙂 Read on next week to find out what is blocking Falcon’s magic, and see if she can overcome it. Only two more left before the end of the first chapter! Thanks for much for reading, hope to see you next week, and happy 8sunday!

 

Blog Post and Novel Excerpt © Victoria Davenport & the Coffee.Write.Repeat. blog

7 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors #4

  1. Three years is a long time to be trying something with no success. I wonder if perhaps, there’s a different kind of magic at play? The ‘trapped’ feeling makes me think something is wrong–like a binding or a curse. Intriguing!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Writing Warriors #5 | Coffee. Write. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

